Tags

, ,

Recently I’ve taken some time to read some books that apparently I’m seriously deficient for having not read before. I’ve read some others, but the two I wanted to talk about, or rather share my already written reviews for are A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving and Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte. Normally I’ll choose a good classic over something more contemporary any day of the week. Not this time. I thought that Owen Meany was masterpiece from start to finish. And while Wuthering Heights is one of those books that everyone reads at least once in their life, I didn’t find it to be anything more than just okay. Interestingly enough, I felt much the same way about Jane Eyre, though apparently most people either love Jane and hate Heights or vice-versa.

A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving
5 Stars + Heart

Growing up in small-town New England during the middle of the last century was a heady time. A tidal wave of changes were coming to this country that would have a lasting effect on everyone who lived through them. Johnny and his best friend Owen Meany were no exception. Though it’s not where the book starts, their story very much begins when Owen, as a young boy, accidentally kills Johnny’s mother. Their friendship survives and deepens after this incident, bringing them closer together while they struggle to through the common and not so common problems of adolescence.

I’ll be the first to admit, I was wrong about this book. I’ve avoided it for a couple of years because I just wasn’t all that impressed by the only other John Irving novel I’ve read. However, people kept recommending it to me, it is on the list of 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die, and I owned a copy of it. It felt like it was just the time to get the monkey off my back. I am so thankful I did. I truly enjoyed every moment of this book.

The author did a great job of describing a time and a place, and though I was not alive during the Vietnam War, I think the placement in time was well done. A lot of the characters were a bit eccentric, but what I liked is that they were human, they (well with the exception of maybe one) weren’t caricatures of what you expect someone living through 1960s America to be. I was particularly enamored with Owen Meany. He wasn’t at all like any other character I’ve ever read. From his size, to his off-putting voice, to his surety of faith, he was just so unique and special. Johnny was the perfect best friend and as the witness to Owen Meany’s particular story, also the perfect vehicle to narrate his story. I don’t think that this book could have been done well without the deft touch that Irving took with his characters. It could have been very easy to mess this story up. Between the death of Johnny’s mother and the very strong religious tones, there were some pretty heavy plotlines to deal with. It’s not a book that just anyone could have written.

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
3 Stars

Long considered to the classic example of a gothic novel, Wuthering Heights is indeed a classic and worthy of being read. It is a strong example of the gothic genre and the time-period in which it was written. While I can’t say I loved it, I also can’t claim to have hated or even dislike it. In fact I also didn’t find Catherine or Heathcliff to be worthy of my hate, though many a reader seems to. Instead I felt pity for the both of them, and in fact all of the characters that populate this book. Pity is by far the strongest emotion I can muster for this novel.

As regards, the enduring battle between Wuthering Heights and Jane Eyre, I may be the rare reader who prefers neither above the other. They were both good novels and well written, but neither of them caused me great feeling one way or the other. It does make me curious however if it is in fact their slightly less famous sister Anne Bronte who will raise some emotion in me regarding any of the Brontes.

